PDA

View Full Version : The Frank bill and State Laws/Taxes

Gunslinger1988
05-02-2007, 09:12 AM
I am trying to decide if I support this bill. I Just spent some time reading the entire bill. I have two major concerns, State Laws and Tax Collection. I hope that some of you posters can help answer my questions.

I live in Georgia. I am a professional player who pays taxes on live and internet winnings. I do not know what laws if any are on the books about internet gambling in my state( how do I find this out?) . I am concerned that if the Frank bill passes, I will not be able to play with other US residents, and will be forced to move to another state in order to play online poker. I'm sure there are MANY others with similar concerns.

Regarding the tax section of the bill. ‘‘(3) Appropriate mechanisms to ensure that all
11 taxes relating to Internet gambling due to Federal
12 and State governments and to Indian tribes from
13 persons engaged in Internet gambling are collected
14 at the time of any payment of any proceeds of Internet gambling.

This could be very troubling. If they decide to collect taxes on anything other a players year-end profit, the tax burden for players could be enormous. It seems that this bill will give a TON of power to the named " Director". Any Thoughts?

Skallagrim
05-02-2007, 10:16 AM
You (and everyone else) can check your actual state law on gambling here:
http://www.gambling-law-us.com/State-Law-Summary/

I hate to say this, but your livlihood in the state of Georgia is illegal. Georgia law makes it a misdemeanor to bet money on "any game played with cards."

I assume your B&M play is not in Georgia so that is OK. But, although Georgia has no law specific to the internet, my opinion (and I am a lawyer) is that the Georgia law is written so that playing cards on the internet is covered too.

The Frank Bill allows individual states to opt out and prevent their residents from participating. You can guess what Georgia would decide to do.