PDA

View Full Version : Chance to play full time - take my shot?

BingoChimp
01-04-2006, 09:17 AM
Not sure where to start so I’ll just pile in and see what happens. Apologies if this gets a little long…

I’m 35, married, no kids and am in a boring IT job that sends me to sleep.

I have been playing “winning” poker for about 18 months. I don’t have any charts to post or even PT stats because, so far, I haven’t used them. I know I am winning as my original deposit to the site I mainly play at I have multiplied by x 30. I don’t play huge stakes – mainly $20 or $30 STT and MTT with a bit of ring game play thrown in..all NL.

A situation has come about at work where some staff are to be released on a voluntary basis due to a reorganisation of our services. If I have done my sums right then I stand to take about $70k if I apply for early severance. That’s after tax.

So here’s my dilemma – I have a chance at playing full time. I should also point out that if I pass this opportunity, in about 12 to 18 months time our services are going to be reconsidered and I may end up being forced into a job that I don’t want to do in a place that I probably don’t want to be – but it’s not guaranteed. I could end up being the same as I am now. The chances are the cash offer is just this one time though.

My wife will fully support me if I choose to apply to be paid off.

I’d like to think I have really thought this through. I would have plenty to use as a bankroll, with a separate amount to use if I didn’t make my target for the month. I would need to take about $1700 a month to basically have the same standard of living I have now. I should point out that I’m in the UK and tax is not an issue. I play mainly online but do have good results when I play live. Assuming that most will be online play though. If I went on an appalling downswing for some reason I would still have enough to cover living expenses for around 15 months.