PDA

View Full Version : tax question- filing as a professional and self-employment tax

ActionJeff
04-24-2007, 05:01 PM
I obviously need to speak to an accountant, but here it is

I have to pay something like 15.3% self-employment tax to file as a professional poker player, which is a very healthy sum. As a U.S. citizen and resident, is there any way around this? Could I state I am a student and poker is a hobby, and still be able to deduct losses/ just pay taxes on my overall profit, without the self-employment tax? Any ideas on this?

Commentary from any other professionals or players deriving a lot of income from poker would be appreciated- there have to be some tricks that I'm missing here that save a lot of money.

-Jeff

Fat Nicky
04-24-2007, 05:07 PM
not sure if you realize this, but 1/2 of your self employment tax is deducted on the front page of your 1040.

also, you're probably better off filing as professional, because then you can deduct expenses related to your poker playing (travel expenses, internet bill, etc.)

adanthar
04-24-2007, 06:24 PM
AIM me about this at some point.

ActionJeff
04-24-2007, 07:14 PM
[ QUOTE ]
not sure if you realize this, but 1/2 of your self employment tax is deducted on the front page of your 1040.

also, you're probably better off filing as professional, because then you can deduct expenses related to your poker playing (travel expenses, internet bill, etc.)

[/ QUOTE ]

I did not realize this at all. However, not 100% on your second statement. If someone had $1M a year in taxable income, $20k or so in business expenses wouldn't come anywhere close to the 15.3% for self employment.

Adanthar,

will do. I forget your AIM, pm me pls

Russ Fox
04-24-2007, 10:46 PM
FYI, the self employment tax is 15.3% for the first $94,200 of income ($97,500 in 2007); after that, it's 2.9%.

Can you say you're a student? Sure, if you are one.