PDA

View Full Version : Folding on the flop

luked
02-16-2006, 06:36 AM
I am new to poker and having read GSIH's small stakes no limit part I am ready to start playing (and hopefully learning more by playing!). However I wanted to check with the ultra tight system Ed Miller recommends, if the flop completely misses me and someone bets on the flop before it gets to me should I fold (thinking they have a better hand) or should I go all in as I bet preflop?

Also which websites and games (preferably small stakes) out there tend to be quite loose for small stakes NL?

Thanks

FilthyCarlos
02-16-2006, 06:47 AM
I would assume that if you've read GSIH that you'd realise this question doesn't have a Yes/NO answer.

It's all dependant on your position, your cards, the flop and of course your opposition among other factors.

Of course if you fold everytime you miss the flop at least you won't be running into any trouble, which may the correct course of action when you first start playing.

As for sites, i play on PartyPoker but even the smallest NL and PL games might be a bit high for a complete beginner, Poker Stars offers lower stakes and is probably a better site to start out at. Plus i believe the play is relatively loose, although now adays i find most big sites to all be fairly similar.

I'll also take this oppurtunity to say hello to everyone at 2+2 since this is my first post after a number of weeks of lurking!

scorer
02-16-2006, 06:58 AM