PDA

View Full Version : Playing TAG at 10NL- long

Bowlboy
04-17-2007, 08:13 PM
Not sure if it's a good idea anymore. People just call so darn much. Perhaps it's just that I lack the postflop skills to make the money, and that is likely true, however when I play like a nit, I seem to always do fine.

I just started playing NL 6max last fall. I was a limit donk before, but I really grew to hate it. I wanted something where I could exploit my edge when I held a strong hand for the maximum. I switched to NL and started playing .01/.02 with a $40 bankroll. I was tired from working so hard at limit moving up to .25/.50 only to have a big downswing and ending up right where i started. I didnt want to have to deposit again, because of issues at home and fears that gambling would become a problem for me as it was for my father. So, I played really tight at .01/.02. Small pots for small hands and big pots for big hands. Marginal hands got folded to heat. I was a nit out of neccessity. There is an upside to it though. I was booking winning sessions consistently. In fact, I crushed .01/.02 for 23PTBB/100 over 20k hands playing like a nit.