PDA

View Full Version : need some tax advice, I think I'm so screwed

PunchyPlay
04-07-2007, 01:53 AM
Thought I'd post this, maybe someone is familiar with this sort of situation. Basically I've been putting off paying taxes for the past 3 years because every time taxes come up I just can't afford it. The first couple of years I figured I was ok because I didn't make all that much and knew the chance I'd be audited would be very low. Now it really seems to be snowballing on me, I know I must owe a lot, and I just can't pay it, so I feel really stuck. I've really been agonizing over this for the past few months and once neteller got shutdown I got really depressed and apathetic about it all. I'm just now coming out of that so I've got like an inkling of hope I can somehow fix all this.

So here's the situation, in the past 3 years I've made 92k at poker. The first year I made 14k, 2nd year 30k, 3rd year 48k. The only records I've keept are in a stats web page I made that tracks my hours played and money won. Everything was cashed out through electronic funds transfers (a few paper checks when I first started) so it's possible I might be able to pull records from my bank but I'd guess they don't go back 3 years (hopefully wrong on that).

I've moved around a lot in those 3 years and have always been renting. I've got about 4k in the bank right now and like 9.7k online with monthly expenses of about 3k (will be lower once a couple loans get paid off). I could probably find some things to deduct like buying new computers and lcd monitors but honestly it doesn't seem like it would make a dent in 92k. I don't really have any assets that I could sell besides a couch and a 55" tv. I know my money magement for the past 3 years hasn't been very good for me to only have 14k and I made some poor life decisions but I've learned a lot (this is really the first money I ever had, I come from a poor family).