PDA

View Full Version : Random Thought (about working on a cruise ship and playing poker)

TheMetetron
02-12-2006, 08:53 PM
Okay, so here's today's random thought:

What if I worked on a cruise ship (preferrably as a Disc Jockey which I have 6-7 years experience in) and played online poker during the day.

This is way I figure it... I sign up for a 6 month contract with some cruise company and do the whole DJ thing for like 4-5 hours a night, probably 5 days a week (maybe more, I don't know) and party with the drunk passengers and hot, foreign workers. Then, I buy some nice ass 1900x1200 laptop and I can 4-8 table on that during the day (as far as I know, free internet access is available to all employees).

The cruise company pays room and board, I get to stop in some sweet ass ports of call 3 days a week (during which time the clubs onboard are obviously not open), and I get to play poker during the day and late nights after work and squirrel away the assloads of money.

Seems like a decent alternative to my idea of moving to Costa Rica or Cabo San Lucas to play poker on the sandy beaches (though that is definitely not a bad idea).

I'll have to give this more thought, but it seems like it would be fun. DJing might be a hard job to get on a ship though (but I know the retards on the last cruise I was on sucked big time, so probably not). If that didn't work, I'd have to come up with some job that doesn't work much... pay from the cruise ship doesn't really matter to me, that won't be what I do to make money.

Hmmmm.... this is all like 6 months to a year down the road of course. But it was an interesting "what if" for today.

bigballz
02-12-2006, 09:04 PM
I don't know how much you would like working a cruise ship year round, but if you did every 2 months on/off that sounds like a really cool idea.

TheMetetron
02-12-2006, 09:07 PM
[ QUOTE ]