PDA

View Full Version : uNL 101: cbetting, etc

Brian O'Nolan
02-25-2007, 10:28 PM
I've been playing NL for about 6 months and I feel like I've learned enough to play well in big pots: building pots with sets/big hands, felting or folding overpairs/top pairs in good spots. I think I have a ton of leaks in playing small pots though- cbetting missed flops in position, playing one pair OOP, etc. Some of this is a function of 9 tabling, which I'm still adjusting to, so I don't pay as much attention to the little pots, bet sizing lazily, folding to small raises too often, etc. I'd like some feedback on a few hands that are kinda typical of where I have problems.

Hand 1: My standard is usually to cbet any flop HU checked to me, as long is villain isn't floating like crazy. Should I not even fire at these flops? Villain here is like 30/0, pretty passive.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.25 BB (5 handed) Hand History Converter Tool (http://poker-tools.flopturnriver.com/Hand-Converter.php) from FlopTurnRiver.com (http://www.flopturnriver.com) (Format: 2+2 Forums)

MP ($7.05)
Hero ($47.65)
SB ($43.45)
BB ($27.70)
UTG ($16.55)

Preflop: Hero is Button with J/images/graemlins/spade.gif, A/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
UTG calls $0.25, MP calls $0.25, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $1.5</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, UTG calls $1.25, MP folds.

Flop: ($3.60) 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 6/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
UTG checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $2.25</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG raises to $4.5</font>, Hero folds.

Final Pot: $10.35

Hand 2: Standard cbet on A hi flop? Ever fire again on the turn?

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.25 BB (5 handed) Hand History Converter Tool (http://poker-tools.flopturnriver.com/Hand-Converter.php) from FlopTurnRiver.com (http://www.flopturnriver.com) (Format: 2+2 Forums)

UTG ($91.25)
Hero ($24.15)
Button ($22.20)
SB ($24.15)