PDA

View Full Version : Open relationships (thread led by cool Enon, not lame me)

El Diablo
02-22-2007, 03:35 AM
New batch of thread starters should be enabled soon, sorry for the delay. In the meantime, enon wants to kick off a discussion about the good and bad of open relationships. I'm too lame to have relationships with two girls at the same time, so I'll let him take it from here.

Enon
02-22-2007, 03:36 AM
Let me preface this by saying that I’m relatively new to dating in general and I’m 24 years old. I’ve never been in a long term relationship even though I’m a pretty well rounded, happy guy. The main reason for this lack of relationships has been partly shyness and a general tendency to be comfortable by myself.

Over the last year or so I’ve been dating a few people and just recently got involved with a friend and housemate I had known for about a year. She’s 21, mature, cute, and highly intelligent with good communication skills. I decided to make the first move only about 6 weeks before she left for a study abroad program, not coming into the situation with any long-term expectations. I had become a lot closer to her as friends in the months prior and this will sound weird but I couldn’t figure out if I really wanted to get ‘involved’ with her until after I made the first move and realized that it worked really well. We both communicated our expectations and feelings very clearly from the start and both of us were wary of harming the friendship.