PDA

View Full Version : A2s at 25NL: What am I representing with this play?

Nick C
02-21-2007, 10:49 AM
I'm still relatively new to NL, and I haven't made a whole lot of use of the "overpush with a monster draw" play. It seems to me like versus my opponents at NL25 it's often just not necessary, since they'll frequently let me draw cheaply and there's a good chance I'll get paid if I catch anyway.

However, in this hand, it seemed to me like I had found a good spot for it. But afterwards I did wonder a little what my play even represented? I doubt Villain knows much about me specifically, so I guess it's more a question of what he's used to seeing, but in fact I would probably not play anything this way versus his relatively short but not super-short stack with anything but a huge draw. (With strong made hands, although I might raise the flop, unless he 3-bet all-in, I'd aim to get his stack in on the turn.)

Anyway, Villain is 29/0/3 after a whole 28 hands.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.25 BB (7 handed) Hand History Converter Tool (http://poker-tools.flopturnriver.com/Hand-Converter.php) from FlopTurnRiver.com (http://www.flopturnriver.com) (Format: 2+2 Forums)

SB ($9.75)
BB ($6.15)
UTG ($25.35)
MP1 ($7.60)
Hero ($55.90)
CO ($28.40)
Button ($14.65)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif, A/images/graemlins/heart.gif.
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $1</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, SB calls $0.90, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>.

Flop: ($2.25) 5/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/club.gif, 7/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets $1</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $9.75 . . .</font>

My questions are:

(1) Is this a good spot for this play?

(2) What am I representing?

(3) What other hands, if any, should I do this with?