PDA

View Full Version : 6 vs 9 handed

fees
02-19-2007, 08:18 PM
I've already had one thread locked, I'm sorry if I was vague I'm new to poker forums but hopefully this is specific enough.
In small stakes, .25/.5 or .5/1 NL ring games, what are the pro's and con's of 6 and 9 handed? What are the reasons for prefering one or the other? Does one have *potential* for a better hourly rate? If you multitable how much of a disadvantage are you at playing 6 handed? These are specific things I'm curious about, but any input is appreciated. Thanks!
Ryan

DWarrior
02-19-2007, 08:24 PM
This probably belongs in the Beginners section. I'm not sure if it's answered in any stickies though.

9max:
- play tighter PF
- less sticky decisions post-flop because your hands are stronger
- more straight forward poker
- populated by extreme nits
- less hands/hr entered
- easier to multi-table
- expect to see 2 set miners per table

6max:
- play more hands pf
- thus, more marginal situations
- more post-flop play
- play more hands/hr
- harder to multi-table
- more read dependant
- more hands played with bad players
- more opportunities to see how bad players play
- higher variance

The general rule I've heard was: better players prefer shorter tables because it gives them more opportunities to use their skills and play vs bad opponents.

fees
02-19-2007, 08:33 PM
Wow, thanks thats really good insight. How many tables do you consider reasonable for 6/9 handed, respectively?

DWarrior
02-19-2007, 08:42 PM
There's no set answer, it depends on your level of concentration and skills.