PDA

View Full Version : Box of wine (and other cheap wine)

Kneel B4 Zod
02-13-2007, 08:17 PM
the antithesis of The Diablo's Napa thread.

On a friends recommendation, I recently picked up 2 boxes of wine, both from Black Box wines (http://www.blackboxwines.com/). His selling points were:

- convenience. wine in a box is very convenient if you/your SO like to have 1 or 2 glasses with dinner, but feel like you don't drink enough to be opening bottles every night

- value. you can now get decent wines at a great price. I paid $18.99 for each box, which is the equivalent of 4 standard bottles. you won't feel guilty drinking this every night or serving a bunch to anyone over for casual bite.

- that is all

I picked up 1 box of Cabernet Sauvignon and 1 box of Pinot Grigio. I had the Cab with dinner last night. Verdict - it's ok! I am only a newb wine drinker, and to me it tasted like a decent $10 bottle would. It had a pretty full body and some spicy berry flavors. It was great for the 2 glasses I had my steak tips.

I haven't had the PG, trip report to follow. The only downside to the Box o' PG is that you need to keep it in the fridge. but no biggie, I don't keep a lot of food in there anyway.

anyone else have other cheap wine to suggest? or not ashamed to admit they recently bought a box?

ahnuld
02-13-2007, 08:21 PM
The Delicato Merlot is really awesome. I think it would go for about 10 bucks in the states, but if you want a great wine to drink alone to predrink, or to drink with the bread when you first get in the restaurant, this is it.

Aloysius
02-13-2007, 08:29 PM
[ QUOTE ]
- convenience. wine in a box is very convenient if you/your SO like to have 1 or 2 glasses with dinner, but feel like you don't drink enough to be opening bottles every night

[/ QUOTE ]

http://www.acwc.com/images/productLabelsLive/4887_lg.jpg
http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l181/aloysius42/winebottlestop02.jpg