PDA

View Full Version : Taxes for part-time poker players: Only declaring net winnings.

Spaded
02-01-2007, 11:24 PM
Here's my situation: I'm a student and all I did for income was play poker in 2006. I owe no federal taxes because my standard deduction and "lifetime learning tuition tax credit" cut the taxes to zero. I'm about to graduate and get a full-time job, planning to play poker part-time. I had a 1040 booklet mailed to me and I noticed this line on the tax form:

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete."

The instructions for line 21 of the 1040, the "other income" line, state that you must declare gambling winnings. It states: "State your gambling winnings..., etc. For details on gambling losses, see Schedule A." There are schedule A instructions on the form mailed to me about gambling losses, stating "deduct gambling losses, but only to the extent of winnings on form 1040, line 21" If a part-time pro wins 50k but loses 30k, they go ahead and take care of that in the 1040+A as instructed. Nowhere did I read "you can only deduct gambling losses if you file as a gambling pro." According to the 1040 form the gambling part-timers have done it correctly.

Basically, they are reporting their total net income in good faith and to the best of their knowledge (at least the knowledge they learned from the instructions for gambling income on the tax form that they signed).

Of course, if an audit occurs and they point out that minor discrepancy, they are not in trouble, since the tax form that they signed stated to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete. And at the time they signed it, to the best of their knowledge, they believed that the instructions provided to them were complete.

Sniper
02-01-2007, 11:35 PM