PDA

View Full Version : Commutative Multiplication of Complex number magnitudes?

IdealFugacity
01-30-2007, 06:53 PM
Hi, I'm studying physical chemistry (senior year of chem engineering), which is, as far as this post concerns, an intro to quantum mechanics. Currently working through section of the textbook on representing wave functions as complex functions.

As a brief exercise, there is an example problem covering finding the magnitude of some complex numbers (magnitude |f| = sqrt (f* f)...multiplying all i's by negative 1 for the f* term, if that serves as a reminder if necessary

so for example, the magnitude of (1+i) (sqrt2 + 5i) is found by finding:
sqrt[ (1+i)(sqrt2 + 5i)(1-i)(sqrt2 - 5i) ] = 3sqrt6

the other 3 have forms such as (1+sqrt3 i)/ (11-2i) , or
exp(sqrt2 i pi) * exp( -3 i pi) /
4exp (i pi/4)

For all of these, I found the correct answer the long way (sqrt f*f)
however, i noticed that if i find the magnitude of each individual term and pretending that this property was commutive (commutative?), i got the same answers, eg for the first example:
(1+i)(sqrt2 + 5i), multiplying the magnitude of the first term (sqrt 1sq plus 1sq = sqrt2), by the magnitude of the 2nd term (sqrt (2 plus 25) = sqrt27 = 3sqrt3, i got 3sqrt6 again. This worked for all 4 problems given in the book.

Is this dangerous, and I was lucky? Or will this property be true for future, more complicated, problems of this type?

Thanks for reading

bunny
01-30-2007, 06:58 PM
EDIT for wrongness

thylacine
01-30-2007, 07:32 PM
It is always true for complex numbers that the magnitude of the product is the product of the magnitudes.

For more info, check a high school maths textbook.

jay_shark
01-30-2007, 07:37 PM
|a-bi|= sqrt(a^2+(-b)^2)

(a+bi)(c+di)= ac+ (a+d)i +(b+c)i+bdi^2 ; i^2=-1
=ac +(a+b+c+d)i -bd
=(ac-bd)+ (a+b+c+d)i

The magnitude of this vector is
sqrt[(ac-bd)^2 + (a+b+c+d)^2]

IdealFugacity
01-30-2007, 08:58 PM