PDA

View Full Version : Parallel Universe !

fifield
02-07-2006, 11:12 PM
I'm not an expert, nor knowledgeable, by any stretch, on "the theory of everything" or theories of the universe. I've not read any books, nor really heard much mentioned about these scientific discoveries(?)/philosophies except for the program airing on THE SCIENCE CHANNEL right now (and again @ 1 am ET) "Parallel Universe". I've seen it now between five and ten times and each time I find another bit that, figuratively, BLOWS MY MIND. I find these theories INCREDIBLY intriguing... (ie STRING THEORY, the SINGULARITY, MULTIPLE/PARALLEL UNIVERSES, 11-D MODEL OF OUR UNIVERSE, and a few others I can't remember, and, therefore, likely don't find as piquing)

fifield
02-07-2006, 11:15 PM
What I want to know is:

*what do any of you more versed in these theories think of them?
*what resources (books, journals, theses, etc.) are the best places to start exploring these theories in greater depth?
*based on this show, does that add any cred to the sceptically received "What the *!@@p do we Know?"
*and any other topical info....thanks

fifield
02-07-2006, 11:17 PM
IS ANYONE ELSE WATCHING THIS RIGHT NOW?
...just curious, but very worthwhile, IMO...

Matt R.
02-07-2006, 11:23 PM
Hi,
If you really want to understand these theories, I hope you're really gifted at math. And even then, be prepared to spend a lot of time building up to BEGIN studying these theories (unless you have an extensive physics and math background).

A great book to start is The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene. No math involved, but good explanations. Journal articles would require a LOT of knowledge in the subject to even begin to understand. Do you have any foundations in quantum mechanics and relativity? Because those would be the places to start for a "real" understanding.