PDA

View Full Version : HIV Vaccine

Marko Schmarko
02-06-2006, 05:35 PM
This is my first attempt at fulfilling Rduke's desire for more science.

I just started working at The Scripps Reserach Institute in La Jolla, CA in an HIV lab that solely concentrates on antibody-HIV interactions in an effort to, eventually, produce a vaccine.

The issues with this approach are numerous. The most daunting, though, is that there is a sort of point-of-no-return with HIV. Once the virus has effectively implanted its genome into the victim, the immune system is useless. HIV's genome mutates so rapidly that if it is given the chance to replicate at all, it will quickly evade any individual antibody, and broadly incorporate itself within a week.

The challenge, then, is to prep the body to mount a sufficient mass of antibody to neutralize the virus before it has the chance infect.

My question:

Does this approach seem viable? Will the body ever be able to mount sufficient concentrations of antibody before infection? Will HIV simply evade the antibod(y/ies) used?

Rduke55
02-06-2006, 05:44 PM
Yay! Although i was thinking about more of a summary, followed by any open questions (since most of us won't know much about the subject)
I'll do mine tomorrow as I'm waaaayyy too hungover to form reasonable thoughts today (Steeler's rule /images/graemlins/tongue.gif).

Marko, I'm pretty ignorant about the specifics of HIV. Does the virus circulate for a time before it actually gets into a cell? When it replicates, do the viruses get into circulation?
And I would guess that it can't mutate all it's surface proteins. Do we just need to find one that stays the same?

Marko Schmarko
02-06-2006, 05:50 PM
Yes, it circulates for a bit before infection... I'm actually unsure as to exactly how long, but I believe it's about a week before it's well-incoroporated.

Once it replicates, there viruses do circulate.