PDA

View Full Version : is this move okay to do..?

lukelabet
01-03-2006, 01:22 AM
Just re-reading SS 1 on page 466, an example is given on AA versus a set on the board. DB says if opponent moved all-in, he would turn over the AA BEFORE calling/folding to see reaction. Is this okay to do, I've limited live experience just trying to work ut what's acceptable...

Photoc
01-03-2006, 01:33 AM
Try the NL holdem section of this forum for strategy discussion. This really has no place in the B&M forum.

murellus
01-03-2006, 01:34 AM
depends on where you go, some places will say ok, some will call your hand dead

henrikrh
01-03-2006, 04:06 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Try the NL holdem section of this forum for strategy discussion. This really has no place in the B&M forum.

[/ QUOTE ]

Are you kidding? This is a question of B&M etiquette. I would say that this is mostly ok, but never when there are other people who still have live hands. Might want to ask the dealer if this will result in your hand being dead before you make the move. I do this alot in my home game, can be pretty effective.

Photoc
01-03-2006, 04:27 AM
I mistook his post for asking if it's ok to do strategy-wise in a game. IE: if it works.

My appologies to the OP.

Rick Nebiolo
01-03-2006, 05:01 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Just re-reading SS 1 on page 466, an example is given on AA versus a set on the board. DB says if opponent moved all-in, he would turn over the AA BEFORE calling/folding to see reaction. Is this okay to do, I've limited live experience just trying to work ut what's acceptable...

[/ QUOTE ]

It's *usually* OK but some cardrooms in LA are moving in a direction against allowing this in the small buy-in games. You might want to ask the floor (and don't expect consistent answers).

As an aside, when I push all-in (whether with a hand or as a bluff) I stare straight down and sort of cover my face with my hands (Mike Caro style) so you would be hard pressed to get a reaction.

~ Rick

Percula
01-03-2006, 10:06 AM