PDA

View Full Version : The poor capitalist

tolbiny
12-07-2006, 08:45 AM
Discalimer- I am sure someone (or many people) have made these points before, but as i am new to reading in capitalism and have not read them in other works specifically. So I pass them off as my own only in so much as i am not directly copying them.

[ QUOTE ]
Capital is money, capital is commodities. By virtue of it being value, it has acquired the occult ability to add value to itself. It brings forth living offspring, or, at the least, lays golden eggs.
Karl Marx

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]
Capitalist production, therefore, develops technology, and the combining together of various processes into a social whole, only by sapping the original sources of all wealth - the soil and the labourer.
Karl Marx

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]
Capital is dead labor, which, vampire-like, lives only by sucking living labor, and lives the more, the more labor it sucks.
Karl Marx

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]
Nothing can have value without being an object of utility
Karl Marx

[/ QUOTE ]

In his writings Marx intentional makes a distinction between capital and labour, but without satisfactory explanation. Labour has all of the qualities of capital, it has value and is saleable, what is it that makes labour a non commodity that ought to be seperated from other sources of capital?

Commodity
2. something of use, advantage, or value.
It is clear that laour fits this definition percisely.