PDA

View Full Version : On the namings of fundamental and organic sciences

LifetimeLoser77
12-04-2006, 09:43 AM
Lately I have noticed a large trend towards mixing biology into all the fundamental sciences. In fact the year I graduated the physics department at Brandeis hired two new professors, one who studied cells and another who studied proteins (i think; i didn't really review their research) (2 longtime professors had just switched into biophysics from pure physics as well).
Now I don't deny there is a great value in studying cells and proteins in a mathematical way; or rather, in a way which uses more mathematical insight than the average biologist would tend to use. Or studying them with highly advanced tools such as the electron microscope (that tool itself created by advanced physics).
But on the other hand, I think whenever you go about studying biological phenomena, you should be using all tools available. The point is that someone who has a degree in physics who researches proteins is not really a "Biophysicist". He's just a biologist with a background in physics.
It has always been the case that mathematics, physics and chemistry are the foundation of organic science. Why is it acceptable to start mingling these words together into confusing terms like "biophysics", "biochemistry", "bioinformatics"?

Metric
12-04-2006, 10:27 AM
My guess is that it's just a convenient way to advertize that "I really don't know crap about a lot of biology, despite the fact that I'm the world's leading authority on _________, which is more of interest to biologists than it is to physicists."

madnak
12-04-2006, 01:21 PM