PDA

View Full Version : On calling river raises...

Everlong
12-01-2006, 01:25 PM
Reading this hand (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=8245304&an=0&page=1#Post 8245304) posted by neverforgetlol got me thinking a bit about calling river raises.

This post is a bit of a blanket statement but bear with me....

So in the above post I advocate calling the first, small river raise.
But in effect I think calling might be wrong.

Who raises this river that we are beating?
AK? I think at the very best we are calling for a split.

This got me thinking further about a similar aspect, block-betting river then going ahead anyway calling the min-raise based on pot-odds. I am an expert in this field.
My usual reasoning is "I only have to be right 1/7 or 1/5 blabla to warrant a call".

Although I cannot succesfully filter in PT for hands where I called a river raise I can intiutively tell you that the percentage of hands I have won after calling a river raise (especially after firing out a blocker) must be minute. I simply don't think a lot of river raises, especially from solid opponents are bluffs/made with weaker hands that we beat in situations where we have fired a blocker.

I look forward to your thoughts on this and also any help on filtering in PT to actually have a look at this.

I imagine that I would have saved a ridiculous amount of money by simply generally not calling river raises.

Leviathan101
12-01-2006, 02:46 PM
The whole point of blockers on the river is to keep it cheap with a hand with showdown value. Unless its some LAG who attacks weak bets with air, when you block and you get raised you should generally be folding. Otherwise its just a poorly placed value bet.

If you decide you want to see showdown with a hand and will call a raise on a block, just check/call. At least you pick off some bluffs and more marginal hands this way.

eigenvalue
12-01-2006, 03:38 PM
YES YOU CAN SAVE A LOT OF MONEY BY FOLDING TO RIVER RAISES AND RERAISES!