PDA

View Full Version : How easy is it to make a living playing backgammon?

betgo
02-02-2006, 11:21 AM
I used to be a chess and go player. I put tremendous effort into these games. However, I was not a top player (1700 USCF, 2100 USCF correspondence), 1 kyu in go. I have been playing poker for 2 1/2 years and I am making a living at it. In chess or go, you have to be a very strong player to play professionally. Generally, you need to start at a young age. There are more oportunities in go than chess, with about 500 professional players in Japan. The top go players do well from tournaments, but ordinary ones mostly make a living giving lessons.

Obviously, there is a lot more money available in poker and someone who understands game strategy has an advantage. I also may be better at poker, since it is more oriented towards math and deception, which are my strong points. I am not particularly good at space relations, which are important in chess and go.

I have played some backgammon online and against computer programs and read some books. I was wondering how hard it would be to make a living at backgammon. My strength in poker is at tournaments, so that is what I probably would play at backgammon. I am not interested in hustling.

Nottom
02-02-2006, 06:02 PM
My completely uneducated opinion on the matter based only on what I have read on this board:

I don't think its easy. Especially if you don't plan on "hustling" since I think thats probablt where most of the money is at. This doesn't even get into the fact that online backgammon has the bot problem which will keep it from ever being a money making oportunity like poker.

mattw
02-03-2006, 02:53 AM
my disclaimer reads as nottom's:

i think online would not be an option due to bots. live tournies is another matter.