PDA

View Full Version : Help - I think I'm right

DiceyPlay
11-17-2006, 01:56 AM
I'm a math tutor at a nearby college. I was reviewing a test with a student and came across a problem I thought the student had done right but the teacher marked it wrong. I emailed the teacher. Here is a copy of the email I sent to the teacher:

----------------------------------------

Hi,

My name is Michael xxxxxxx. I am a tutor in the tutorial center at XYZ. I reviewed an exam or quiz with a student. The exam or quiz was given this semester in a statistics class you are teaching. In particular question #9 is worded as follows:

A used car dealership has found the length of time before a major repair is required on the cars it sells is normally distributed with mean equal to 10 months and standard deviation of 3 months. If the dealer wants only 5% of the cars to fail before the end of the guarantee period, how many months should the car guarantee be?

The student gave an answer of 5 months. The students answer was marked wrong and a correct answer of 15 was indicated.

If one recommends a quarantee period (15 months) that is greater then the mean time (10 months) until a major repair is required, we should expect more than 50% of the cars to come back for service under the guarantee.

Let x be a random variable with distribtion as described in the question above. 95.15% of the area under the curve lies to the left of x=15. This means that, on average, 95.15% of the cars will require major repair within 15 months.

The more I look at this the more I convince myself that the students answer is correct. Am I looking at this wrong somehow?

A reply is greatly appreciated.

Kind and respectful regards,

-Michael

Here is the reply I received from the teacher:

Hello Michael,

Yes, at first glance 5 months seems like a correct answer. Actually when I did the problem first myself I got that answer!
But let me reword the problem.