PDA

View Full Version : I`m playing terrible, should I take a break for some days ?

11-08-2006, 10:59 PM
I started playing poker about 1 year ago, playing live private NL games. the other players I used to play, where really horrible, and was winning consistently. At the same time, I started playing the Playmoney tables at Pokerstars, and after winning a couple of million in playchips, I sold some of them 20$ for 2mil in playchips (yes there are people who buy them).

I started multitabling four 6-max tables at Pokerstars going from 0.01/0.02 (5NL) to 0.02/0.05 (10NL) to 0.05/0.10 (10NL) tables. I have played about 25k hands on each level, growing my Bankroll to about 350$. I withdraw 100$ about a week ago, and since then I started playing bad. I`m playing Tag style 20/13/3, but I feel like a robot playing, and I haven`t realy enjoyed playing, and can`t seem to find my game. I loose 1 buy in and start playing worse. I have lost about 8 buy ins in a week. Also, been having some personnal problems lately that might affect my game.

Have other players experienced this ?

I`m trying hard to improve my game and move up levels, since I need the extra money to pay for some therapy for my son. However, usualy when I force myself of playing and not having fun I become a loosing player. I used to be a pretty good Pool and Billiard player about 10 years ago and used to experience the same there.

Is it time to take a break from Poker for a couple of Days ?

Any comments appreciated

LaMbaL
11-08-2006, 11:23 PM
Yes, when you feel youre becoming mechanical and not having fun anymore its definately time for a break. Go and do something else until you feel the urge to play poker again.

pr0crast
11-08-2006, 11:28 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I`m trying hard to improve my game and move up levels, since I need the extra money to pay for some therapy for my son. However, usualy when I force myself of playing and not having fun I become a loosing player.

[/ QUOTE ]