PDA

View Full Version : Poker player for US citizenship

Doc100
11-07-2006, 08:35 PM
I am a US permanent residence and have played poker full time for two years. I would like to apply for US citizenship but I am not sure how my career--playing poker on internet will affect my application. I have read many posts about legality of internet poker on this forum but still don't know whether it is legal or not. I mean it probably won't get you arrested but could an immigration officer say it is illegal and deny my application? I have asked some immigration lawyers but they don't know for sure either. Is there anyone in similar situation and have applied for the citizenship? Thanks.

SlapPappy
11-07-2006, 09:12 PM
Where are you from?

Moneyline
11-07-2006, 09:23 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but...

Playing online poker is not illegal on a federal level in the U.S. The federal law pertaining to online gambling is the Wire Act, and the 5th circuit court of appeals ruled that the Wire Act pertains only to sportsbetting.

That said, a handful of states have passed anti-online gambling laws. I believe there are 11 total states that have passed some sort of legislation, and not all of those 11 have passed total bans. You should probably check to see if you live in one of those states, and I'm sure somebody on this forum will be able to tell you which ones they are.

There is a lot of misinformation out there about the legality of online gambling. Much of it deliberate and perpetuated by the department of justice. That said, you haven't broken any federal laws and won't get into legal trouble for having played online poker. Whether or not poker may somehow reflect negatively on you on your immigration application is another matter entirely, but you won't get in trouble for having broken the law (you haven't).

Doc100
11-07-2006, 09:37 PM
I am from New York. One question I need to answer in the application form is: