PDA

View Full Version : NL25 (FR) AA - Opportunity to push preflop for 101BB. Take it?

ymu
10-26-2006, 03:33 AM
I've never done this deep-stacked before outside of a tournament (I always do it in tournaments, but a deep stack in a tournament is 20BB). This seemed like a good time to try it in a cash game.

Villan 1 (UTG) is a very aggressive player who doesn't like being out-aggressed preflop (I've seen him 3-bet AI with AQo for 60BB in previous sessions). He's very aggressive post-flop, but also very capable of folding post-flop without a good hand/strong draw. He frequently open-raises 8x in EP with decent hands. He was also steaming having just lost KK to AA a few hands ago (AA 4-bet AI preflop).

Villain 2 (UTG+1) seems to play anything pretty for any amount in any position.

The only other possibly relevant piece of information is that I'd stacked someone on the previous orbit raising AA from the button and getting limp-reraised by UTG with noone else in the pot. I flat-called instead of 3-betting and we got it all-in on the flop, AA vs KK, so he might not be expecting me to raise big with AA here (unless he understands the difference between the two situations, and I'm not sure he does).

MP3 (26.25)
MP4 ($44.60)
CO ($10.45)
Button ($15.90)
SB ($22.10)
BB (Hero) ($64.05)
UTG ($25.28)
UTG+1 ($18.35)
MP1 ($24.05)
MP2 ($25.70)

Dealt to Hero: A/images/graemlins/heart.gif A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif

UTG raises to $2, UTG+1 calls, 7 folds, Hero raises to $25.28

I was in a bit of a dilemma here. I wanted to isolate UTG without making my hand entirely obvious. I didn't trust UTG+1 to fold to a smaller raise (I'm happy if he calls AI and even happier if he folds having paid the rake for the whole hand). I'm OOP to both of them and I wasn't keen on stacking off if one of them hit hard enough not to fold the flop - or on winning a small-ish pot if they both folded the flop.