PDA

View Full Version : NL General Strategy

brenno11
10-25-2006, 10:04 AM
Hey guys. Im fairly new to NL cash games, most of my poker experience is in SNGs. Just wondering what everyones goal is everytime they sit at a NL table. Iv heard some people like to buy in for the full amount, and play a big stack, and others I have spoken to like to buy in for half or maybe 1/4 of the max, hoping for a double up, since your more likely to get a call being the shortstack. Also, how do yous all decide when to leave the game? I saw on Full Tilt where Chris Ferguson advises to leave the table once you double your stack. Others say stay as long as the game is good, but surely the game changes from its initial conditions once you become a big stack. Any advice or discussion would be appreciated.

uminchu
10-25-2006, 10:11 AM
read the essential selection of uNL threads, then go to the small stakes forum and read their sticky, their is mad info in there and it will answer A LOT of your NEWB questions, that way people dont flame you for asking questions like this and believe me they will, or they will just not respond

so read the stickies, then if you have specifici theory question post it again

BIG stack poker is fun and has many many facets that dont come into play with under 50 BBS and many people are uncomfortable playing with suck large stacks as they do not understand that your high pairs lose their stack off value, and other big stacks have implied odds to call with little, so heres my advice

Start low: play a couple different games where you buy in for half stack , buying in for half you must play tight and your goal is to double up (we call it ratholing yo and we dont think its poker).
Then begin Buying in full which will force you to play REAL poker where you have to make tough decisions but it is much more profitable and fun then ratholing, if you can deal with the variance and learn to lay down overpairs to obvious sets

Hope this helps

I hope this helps

brenno11