PDA

View Full Version : I can't play online poker anymore

John_Manley
10-14-2006, 10:50 PM
There is no word that can describe my feelings and beliefs regarding the ban on online gaming (specifically poker). For the last three years I have looked forward to playing several hours of online poker everynight after work. It kept me on an even keel, it was the perfect diversion. My wife jokingly would remind me that playing poker was my avocation rather than my vocation. She's right. I make about $500,000 a year with my actual job. Now, with the current legislation I have reservations. I am by no means a lawyer or have any inside information regarding the new laws. I am aware that the average poker player will not be affected and the law is aimed at the poker sites and the financial instituions. If I were just a losing player it probably would not matter; however, I occasionally will withdraw nice checks from Neteller. My bank has never questioned these deposits (atleast as far as I know). Of couse I have always paid my taxes etc. My accountant asks "Why do you play poker?". I say because I love the game. Unfortunately now I have enough concern to stop. I have too much to lose. I personally do not want to be the government example of what can happen if you play poker online. I can see some IRS agent talking to some other government agent regarding my winnings/losings online (because I pay my taxes) and he says "well I'll bust his ass". Well, maybe I'm paranoid; but, I do not think it's out of the realm of possibilities. If I were a professional poker player I would be playing right now. I hope that our congress and elected officials will recognize that most poker players are average people that want to play a little poker. Poker online is a simple liberty that I enjoyed living in the U.S. that has been taken away.