PDA

View Full Version : Time to move down? (seeking advice)

cmn
01-02-2006, 11:20 AM
I have been playing online for six months now. I'm a 2d year
law student (with a master's in math...couldn't do the ph.d)
and a stay-at-home dad.

I tore through .25/.50 (10k hands @7BB/100) and .50/1 (25k
hands @4BB/100) playing weak/tight. I developed into a
18/9/3 player at 1/2 (50k hands @2.5BB/100).

My first 50k hands of 2/4 went well (2BB/100); however, my
last 25k hands have not gone well. I believe I am playing
in the same manner, but my stats have dropped from 18/9/3
over the first 50k to 17/7/2 over the last 25k, and I've
dropped 250BB over those 25k hands.

Originally, I attributed the drop to variance and a bad run
of cards as my w$sd has dropped from it's usual 52% to 47%
(I go to showdwon ~32%); however, after 25k hands and 250BB,
it's become obvious that the problem must lie with me.

To those that have weathered similar situations, would you
advise staying at 2/4 or dropping back down to 1/2?

Thank you.

toss
01-02-2006, 11:55 AM
Its quite possible to run bad for 25k hands. Do a search on the Player Qtip.

As for your stats you should probably learn how to steal more. Players at Party 2/4 usually defend their blinds quite poorly. You can push them around without the fear of getting pushed back.

Also respond to hands and see if your advice matches everyone elses. See if your game postflop is solid or not.

Twilight
01-02-2006, 12:06 PM
This is a perfectly normal scenario. A player runs well for a long time, then he has a short period of break even and his confidence is now all messed up. If you had broken even for 25k then played another 50k at 2bb/100 your confidence would be high, and you would be looking at improving yourself rather than moaning about some variance. You have played 160k hands of winning poker don't forget this.