PDA

View Full Version : AK facing turn resistance

Jimbio
08-18-2005, 05:44 PM
Reads of villain is a loose passive opponent (54/2/0.4) this is a very, very limited samplesize ~100 hands. (these numbers are (vp$ip/preflop-raise/aggr. factor) right?)
I am fairly new in the game and pick up A/images/graemlins/heart.gif K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif in the CO
We both got full stacks in 50$NL
fold to villain who limps, mp limp. i raise to 2.5$, blinds fold, villain calls, 2:nd limper folds. 2 players to the flop. pot ~6.25$

I dont got the hand converted, so forgive me, but i hope the play from here on is comprehendible.
> Dealing the Flop(3/images/graemlins/diamond.gif 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif A/images/graemlins/club.gif)
> villain checked
i usually bet out no matter i hit or miss, but i decided this was a safe flop and checked behind. (comments?)
> Hero checked
> Dealing the turn(9/images/graemlins/heart.gif) pot ~6.25$
> villain bet for $3
> Hero raised for $10
> Villain raised for $42
> Hero ?

This is my thinking: Considering he is kind of passive in this session, his raise clearly stands out of the ordinary.
Limp - call? did he flop a set? Do i want to commit my entire stack with just TPTK?

All comments are welcome - Thank you.

ajmargarine
08-18-2005, 06:14 PM
Thanks for posting this. It's hands like this that serve as a reminder why it's often best to just play ABC poker, especially when all you have is one pair on the flop. You're strong on the flop, just bet. You say you are making continuation bets all the time, which is even more reason to bet here.

His 3-bet on the turn now can mean many things since he doesn't think you have an ace. I don't like to get stacked with one pair unless it's me initiating all the action. (not that I am fond of that either /images/graemlins/smile.gif ) I think you have to begrudgingly fold, even though you are folding the best hand sometimes.

Niwa
08-18-2005, 06:21 PM
Bet flop. Call turn and river.

ajmargarine