PDA

View Full Version : Should a new player spend more time reading about poker or playing ???

Thundercat32
01-01-2006, 11:48 PM
Here's my dilemna... I'm not sure how much time each day I should be spending playing poker and how much time I should be reading about it? Usually when I lose I want to quit and study poker and when I win I don't make time to study (until I lose again)

I've been playing for about 8 months now and only in the last 3 months or so have I gotten serious about studying poker. I started off reading the Real Deal by Phil Gordon, than I got his Little Green Book. Next I read portions of the Art of War and Super System. Recently I've been wearing out my copy of Phil Gordon's Final Table poker. I also visit Two plus two and Cardplayer.com daily. Any other suggestions for where to go or what books to read?

I'm much better than I use to be due to this studying, but also I haven't been playing as much. Even though I'm smarter I don't seem to be winning alot more, just not having as many losses. Lasting longer in tournaments but still not winning big prizes.

To get there should I be playing more and reading less or vice versa? It seems as though I don't always have time to implement a new strategy I learned. Another question, how many hands should a player be in each week to consider themselves playing enough to get good enough for an eventual move to poker as a career. I've been thinking 5,000 but I'm not sure if that's enough. Also I don't consider playing at 6 tables at the same time a good way to get to 5,000.

I'm talking about 5,000 at one table only, so you can learn to read opponents. You just can't play your best with 6 tables going at once.

Thanks ya'll for your feedback and advice, it's very much appreciated

TheWorstPlayer
01-01-2006, 11:50 PM
Play until you're tired. Then read 2+2. Mostly those books are just annoying drivel. That is coming from someone who has never opened one, though, so of course I could be completely wrong.