PDA

View Full Version : Ashamed to be from San Antonio

killerclone
09-01-2006, 12:44 PM
I am a San Antonio resident and poker player who played in this years WSOP as well as many other major events. I am an active player in the world of online poker and live within 5 miles of Richard Lee. I was very surprised to see Mr. Lee's outlook on the city of San Antonio during the last few days of the WSOP. He was prominent on supporting and promoting this city throughout the entire WSOP. He turned down a six figure payday so that he would be seen on a nation level promoting the city in which we both reside in. I have lived in San Antonio off and on for about 25 years only to have moved during college and job relocation. 18% of San Antonio is habitable and the rest is a nightmare. Most people are proud of the city that they are from but I can say with great ease that I am ashamed. The crime rate over that past few years is on the rise. The city is filthy and our police force is more corrupt than the LAPD. Money talks in this city and that’s why Mr. Lee had such an extensive investigation. Every day in this city someone is shot or being shot at. Southside, Westside, And Eastside are filled with gangs and violent individuals that drive the upstanding citizens into a life of fear. Many of us live on the North sides of town and only travel to the "other sides" when the Spurs play or our jobs require us to do so. Many other sporting organizations are disgusted with this city after playing here because of the fact that our SBC center is plopped right in the center of the Eastside and is surrounded by section 8 and crime. The city is divided and the city officials care only about 1 thing. Money! Growing up in this city I experienced and was the victim of numerous amounts of crime. From property crime to assault and vandalism, I have filed numerous amounts of police reports and never once was anything done. I own several small business throughout the city and have seen armed robber