PDA

View Full Version : Is it a bad thing to be a book junkie?

bookie socks
01-25-2006, 07:41 AM
I am constantly looking to buy books about poker. I try to buy used when they are available. In the past few months I have bought at least a dozen books. I can't help myself. Is this unhealthy? Or is it a good idea to keep trying to improve my game by playing and reading as much as I can about poker. I don't think any of my friends read poker books, but when I started playing with them I didn't even know a flush beat a straight, or if the board is paired I could be beat by a full house, so I've had to try to catch up through reading books, watching DVD's, reading online info and playing everyday. Now when I play against them I feel like I have the upper hand. I don't win everytime but I feel like I really know the game better than most of them. They will make obvious mistakes (obvious to me anyway) and get lucky. I see their mistake and I want to tell them so bad but I keep my mouth shut so that when they make that mistake again and don't get lucky, I will crush them.

Ragnar
01-25-2006, 09:39 AM
It depends. If you enjoy reading the books and read a lot of them that is fine. If you read several marginal books, rather than studying or re-studying an excellent book then you are making a mistake. If you read marginal books instead of playing and analyzing your play that is bad as well.

zoobird
01-25-2006, 09:58 AM
Very true. I really don't think THAT many really good books have been written about poker yet, so I'd say re-reading the best of them is definitely a better move. Beyond that, if you play online reviewing your hand histories and posting any hands that confuse you here is even more valuable.

hecubus
01-25-2006, 10:18 AM
In my opinion, you can never stop learning. I also buy every book I can get my hands on, except the ones with the not-so-glaring reviews. Knowledge is the key to understanding. Just don't forget to leave time to actually play! :-)

ottsville