PDA

View Full Version : Another Event #27 trip report (longer than I thought)

nickey009
07-21-2006, 05:32 PM
I saw a couple on here so I decided to do one as well. I'll try to keep this short.

My buddy and I decide many months ago after he won a tourney in Reno that we wanted to play in one of the WSOP tourney's. I suggested 1,000 and he wanted 1,500. Since I was cut in on some of his winnings we went with 1,500. Checked into the Rio Monday night and was ready go at Tuesday.

A little back ground seems in order so here it is. I'm dead freakin' money. I've been playing online for about 5 years or so and I'm profitable. My dollars per hour rate was about 10 bucks per hour. I haven't kept track for the last year or so. I don't really do a whole lot of multi's and stick to SNG or 100NL. I have a tendancy to pay someone off when I know I'm beat and I'm on the conservative side.

So, back to the tourney. I read in a magazine that in order to survive you need to play pretty damn tight until the ante's show up. So, that was my plan. The ante's show up in round 4 so I figured that I could open my game up then.

Early on, blinds 25/25 I'm in the BB with 76o and get to see a free flop. Flop is 764. I lead for about 125 into a 125 pot. Get one caller from a guy that I know is tight as can be. Turn is an A. I lead 250. He calls. River is a 3. I check and he checks. He flips A7. Good thing he didn't fire the river but I'm down to about 1000 after this.

With blinds of 50/100 I double through 89 with 99 when I raise his bb and he pushes. I have about 1600 now. My AA beats JJ and I have about 3400. Jennifer Tilly gets moved to my table and proceeds to raise 4 hands in a row and call raises for the next 8. She sure does see a lot of pots. She busts soon afterwards. John Pham moves to my table and soon after the table breaks.