PDA

View Full Version : going for it.

daveT
01-15-2006, 08:57 PM
I was doing a bit of thinking about the myriad of posts that I have seen about going pro in the poker world, quitting the job, etc.

I have seen many of these posts over the past six months I have been using this site, and I haven't seen anything that I would really agree with.

I for one, do not believe that any responsible gambler would suggest playing for a living. The reality is that it is hard, stressful, and not very respectable. Realize that you will be giving up on many things in life, such as your work friends, and any hope of getting a credit card.

I know that I am listed as a mere "enthusiast," but believe me, it is because I do not post, not because I do not know how to play. I do play for a living, and I play live, which is not the most time- efficient way to play.

I want to point out several attitudes that always get me.

"My reputation preceeds me."

Get it out of your head that just because you have some sort of PhD in computer programming that you are qualified to play poker. Yes, several players have a great education, but Howard Lederer dropped out, Men Nguyen probably didn't get a great education in Viet Man, in fact, he was a factory worker before he played poker. Mike Matusow didn't go to college either. I for one, dropped out of high school. Be rest- assured that theer are plenty of MIT grads supporting the Gambler's Anonymous cause.

"Look at my win- rate."

It really disturbs me to see someone post their win rate of 1.5 BB/ 100. Are you kidding me? In order to play live proffessionally, the standard is 1 BB / hour. Considering that there are 30 - 40 hands seen per hour, the live player must be making 3 BB / 100. I think that you have some work to do.

"I built my bankroll from .5 / 1.00"

The first lesson to be learned is that poker is a high- risk job. Slowly building a bankroll is highly risk- adverse in my opinion.

"I have an easier time beating the good players."