PDA

View Full Version : Logic and Reasoning (A college course)

thing85
05-22-2006, 02:02 AM
Hi all,

I'm not a regular poster in SMP (actually, this is my first time posting here) so I'm not entirely sure if this thread is appropriate. If not, mods, please move it or let me know where I should repost it.

I'm currently a senior studying Accounting, but I'm considering taking a logic & reasoning course as an elective to strengthen my, well, logic and reasoning skills. I'm not sure if this is something worth my time, however, and I'm looking for feedback from people who have either taken a similar course or who have some kind of knowledge in a related area. What do you think about this kind of course? Is there much to be gained by taking it, in general? Obviously this varies from person to person, class to class, university to university. I'm just looking for some general comments to hopefully push my decision one way or another since I'm fairly uncertain right now.

Here's the brief description of the course:

PHIL 102: Practical study of logical reasoning; techniques for analyzing and criticizing arguments, with emphasis on assessing the logical coherence of what we read and write.

Thanks guys, I really appreciate any input.

sweetjazz
05-22-2006, 10:26 AM
I personally think this kind of course is great because it introduces to abstract thinking and improves your ability to critically assess arguments. I should warn you, however, that many students find the material somewhat dry. It does sound as though your school is attempting to make the course a bit more engaging (hopefully without sacrificing too much rigor).

Peter666
05-22-2006, 04:04 PM
I agree, and seeing how logic is the way the human brain works, it should be mandatory for any person attaining to higher education to study it.

bunny
05-22-2006, 10:28 PM